Ampleforth Abbey

27 March 2017


The educational apostolate

Education is one of the monastic works undertaken by the monks of Ampleforth and is focussed on three institutions: Ampleforth College, St Martin's Ampleforth and St Benet's Hall, Oxford.

Ampleforth College

Ampleforth College was founded in 1803 and is today the country's leading Catholic Benedictine independent school. It is fully co-educational with just over 600 students aged between the ages of twelve and eighteen. The first lay Headmaster of the school, Mr David Lambon, took up his role on 1 September 2014. A small number of monks continue to work in the school, as chaplains or teachers. Further information can be found on the Ampleforth College website.

St Martin's Ampleforth

Across the valley from Ampleforth College is the prep school St Martin's Ampleforth, situated in Gilling Castle. The school is the fruit of the amalgamation in the year 2000 of St Martin's Nawton and Ampleforth College Junior School. The monastic presence in the school continues through chaplaincy work and members of the teaching staff. The Headmaster is Mr Mark O'Donnell and further information can be found on the St. Martin's Ampleforth website.

St Benet's Hall, Oxford

St Benet's Hall is a Permanent Private Hall of the University of Oxford, founded in 1897 as a House of Studies for the Ampleforth monastic community. It now serves as a House of Studies for the community and for other monks and laymen. The Master of the Hall is Prof. Werner Jeanrond. The monastic superior is Fr Oswald McBride, a monk of the Ampleforth community. Fr Michael Phillips, another Ampleforth monk, is Chaplain to the Hall. For further information visit the St Benet's Hall website.